top of page

Understanding The Connection Between Your Chakras, Nervous System And A Spiritual Awakening.


Chakras are vortexes of pranic energy at specific areas in the body which

control the circulation of Prana (vital energy) entering the entire human structure. Each

chakra works like a switch which turns on or opens up specific areas of the

brain. In most people their psychic centres lie dormant and inactive.

The main aim of hatha yoga is to bring about a balanced flow of prana (vital energy) in our Nadis also know as our nervous system.

Ida is our Parasympathetic nervous system and Pingala is our sympathetic nervous system. Ida and pingala represent the two opposing forces flowing within us.

Ida Nadi - Emanates from the left side of

mooladhara also commonly know as the root chakra, ida spirals up the spinal cord, passing through each chakra in turn,

forming a criss-cross pathway which ends at the left side of ajna chakra also known as our third eye chakra .

Ida is passive feminine and introverted; it is also known as the chandra or moon

Nadi. Ida flows through the left nostril. It has a cooling effect.

The parasympathetic nervous system is responsible for:

● Reducing the heart beat

● Constricting the blood vessels

● Slowing respiration down

Pingala Nadi- ( sympathetic nervous system) Pingala nadi emanates from the right side of mooladhara and passes in an opposite manner to that of ida, also forming a criss-cross pathway which terminates at the right side of ajna chakra.

Pingala is active extrovert and masculine and is called the surya or Sun nadi.

Pingala flows through the right nostril and it has a heating effect. It digests the food and is a fieryred.

The sympathetic nervous system is responsible for:

● Speeding up the Heart rate

● Dilate the blood vessels

● Increase respiration rate

● Efficiency of the eyes ears and other sense organs

Sushmna Nadi - (Central nervous system )

Sushumna nadi is the spiritual channel at the centre of the spinal cord. It originates

from the mooladhara chakra at the perineum and terminates at sahasrara at the

crown of the head.

If pingala flows the body and mind will be active. If ida flows

the body and mind will be calm and balanced, then when sushumna flows Kundalini

awakens and rises through the chakras.

Kundalini is a form of divine feminine energy believed to be located at the base of the spine, in the muladhara.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page